Life thru a blippin' lens

By James

Where to go?

Had a lot of decisions to make recently and tonight was no different.

Shaun and I headed to Ratho Indoor Climbing Centre for a session on the climbing walls.

I must have tried on about 5 pairs of climbing shoes. I told the woman I was a size 9. She said ok and gave me a size 10.

"They're small made" she said.

"Are they supposed to be this tight?" I asked, pointing at my big toe nearly sticking out the front.

"No, try this pair, they are a size 12"

"I'm sorry to be a pain, but they're still too tight"

[The woman scrambles about in the cupboard looking for a bigger pair]

"Size 15?" I said looking a little confused at her.



"Don't you have a smaller size, like a 13?" I asked.

"Sorry, they're not in the box, try this size 14 and see how you find them"

Once again I sat and tried them on - yay! They fitted.

I had a really good time at the climbing. It's not something I would normally do and I'm not one for heights, but slowly but surely I built up my confidence and got to the top.

I started off just grabbing and stepping on anything I could until I got the hand of it, then we decided to try and stick to a specific coloured route, which made things more interesting and made you think about where exactly you were going to move next.

This shot is from one of the more advanced walls... I think I'll just stay at the beginners walls for the time being...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.