indecisionbugging

I do like days which turn around mild feelings of apprehension in the morning to pleasant feelings of extended deadlines and broken code-impasses in the afternoon. So pleased was I that I gave up an evening of relaxing/sitting looking at internets for an evening of moving shelves, sofa, chairs, telly, wires, computer and piles of not-yet-sorted-out stuff from one side of the room to the other so that Nicky can freely activate the central heating when the mean temperature drops far enough to make an extra jumper and a pair of thick socks insufficient protection. It'll also give the delivery-people somewhere to dump the wardrobe's various components when they hopefully arrive on Friday.

[BORING KIT-WAFFLE]
For the past week or so I've been going to work with just my 50mm (and 18-70 for emergencies) to check that I really do want to sell it (along with the seldom-used 70-300) seeing as I also have the more useful and ultimately sharper 60mm macro. The idea was that I would encounter a situation where the 50 outperformed the 60 and justified being kept despite the similarity in FOV. Although I hardly touched the 18-70 and barely left the 50 alone when I only had those two I haven't used the 50 anywhere near as much since getting the 60 and would only really use the shorter and more portable lens if attempting to get a sneaky shot (as the diaphragm is noticeably quieter) or if going somewhere where I'd really need the extra-light-despite-the-slight-fuzziness or where a cheaper lens might be wiser. After a few days of ponder (and situations like that above where it's almost a dead heat) it really just came down to the long-range focal accuracy; whilst the macro is verynice for anything up to a couple of metres the focus ring only has a couple of degrees' twist between 2m and infinity (and beyond) which can be fiddly to get precisely right. A few shots on the way home were at least as if not more slightly imperfectly-autofocussed as the 60 tends to be in such situations so it's eBay time. The next question is... what comes next? I've liked the idea of the 35mm f/2 for ages for a slightly more useful companion ([BOLLOCKS]which I reckon will also complement my preferred subjects and style[/BOLLOCKS]) to a 60mm yet which is still almost as fast as (and reportedly sharper wide open than) the 50mm f/1.8 but wonder if a faster wide-normal zoom would be more sensible in the long run than a 35 now and maybe a 20 later on. Much later on. HMMMM. I think the 35 to begin with if the 70-300 and 50 release sufficient value.
[/BORING KIT-WAFFLE]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.