Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Grain Silo

Another good day today! Very tired after yesterday so spent the first part of the morning lightly dozing, and woke up just in time to see the Pope touchdown in Scotland!

I then went to my friend Scharwenka's for lunch. In fact, Scharwenka, Mrs Scharwenka and myself went to "The Pub" (a particular pub) for lunch, where I had an acceptable half of Bombardier and a roast chicken dinner! Afterwards Mrs Scharwenka needed a little shopping so we stopped off at the supermarket. I then said I'd been meaning to take a picture of this rather fabulous derelict building for a while, so we made a little detour!

First we drove into the nearby park and ride, from where I took several photos of one side of the building (complete with graffitied naughty word). Then we decided to see if we could get round the side from which this picture was taken.

We drove into a lorry yard, with mountains of small stones, ready for haulage to/from wherever they need/produce small stones. At the far end of the yard, near to a large truck and the railway tracks I took this picture, then got back into the car, and we drove home to Scharwenka's house to play on the computer and have a cup of tea!

As we were sat in Scharwenka's study the phone rang. He picked it up and I heard him talking to a woman. "Yes, that's my car, it's in the drive" "Just a few moments ago" "Yes, over the weighbridge" "We went to take some photographs of the grain silo" "No problem, thank you" (or something like that)!

The vigilant security guard at the small stone place had called the police saying that the car was "acting suspiciously"! Once the policelady on the other end of the phone was satisfied the car wasn't stolen & we weren't teenage joyriders she was fine though! We hadn't actually gone anywhere prohibited, just not anywhere anyone usually goes!

Honestly, the things one does for a blip!

I've driven past the building and been fascinated by it for so long it was great to go and have a closer look. I didn't dare get as close as this person, who has some fantastic pictures, but I did discover in my research that the building has a facebook page with a very select group of fans!

After all that excitement we had a cup of tea, then I came home to a fivefold feline welcome and a pleasant evening.

Life is good!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.