Daily Wild

By emyjane

Church of St Giles

This is my local village church, local too because I can see it from my garden & every back window from the house I live. I've lived in this village for 3 years now & still can't believe I have such a pretty church on my doorstep & have decided to blip a whole series of the church & it's graveyard.

The first church here was built during Saxon times dating from the early 11th century. The first recorded vicar was called Humphrey. Since the 15th century the church has been renovated several times & by 1755 it was re-roofed & the description says it was 'shabbiness smothered in whitewash, full of unsightly boxes or pues, and a hideous gallery at the west end.' It was then beautified in 1898 & hasn't changed since then. The tower is 67 feet high & very slim & is prominent in the landscape because of where it stands. It was built to replace an earlier one which was destroyed by lightening in 1438. The tower contains five bells & I'm happy to say they are still rung today & I can hear them from my bed on a Sunday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.