Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Yesterday's Remains

If you don't understand why I'm now talking about items 3, 4 and 5, all will become clear if you look at yesterday's blip. Apologies for this "double" blip, but yesterday was so full and today is so short that I thought it best to do it this way!

3. After leaving Scharwenka's bedside (4.45 pm) I raced to the car park, drove as fast as my little old car and speed limits would allow, parked up at Euston station at 6.30, ran to the tube, hoping my Oyster card was charged, and arrived outside the Coliseum at 6.50, with just enough time to get water & a bar of chocolate before settling down for an evening of sublime Handel.

I've loved Handel operas ever since College, when we spent a blissful term studying them. Their names still remind me of that time, the Amadigi essay, the Tamerlano essay, Rodelinda, Xerxes, Rinaldo, Ariodante, Alcina, Giulio Cesare, Scipione, Il Pastor Fido, etc etc etc. Oh, the nostalgia! I still have a poster on my bathroom wall advertising the "Ariodante Conference" held at College at the time.

Anyway, it was lovely, wonderful music. The production was typically David Aldenesquely bonkers, with lots of rolling around on the floor, which makes the singing a million times more impressive. A lovely evening indeed!

4. I then went up to Euston where I'd planned to meet the Wonderspouse. He wasn't there yet, so I bought a pasty (hadn't had food yet) and sat in the middle of the floor eating it. The Wonderspouse arrived absolutely delighted with himself. He'd WON the Literary Death Match (I'm still not totally sure what it's about, having opted for an evening of Handel instead), but he got a medal and he's really chuffed. He's talked non-stop about a really cool lady in her 70s who he met and who seemed to like him.

5. Once home at "silly o'clock in the morning" (so this blip is about today after all, a bit), I was absolutely delighted to see that 31 out of the 33 Chilean miners had been rescued. I'd been following the story all day - hence BBC News on the computer yesterday morning - and decided that we would stay up to see the last miner get rescued. So we did.

I've loved this story on so many levels - too many to discuss here. Suffice to say, I'm supremely impressed by it all, and so pleased those men are back on the surface. If the Wonderspouse were trapped for 69 days underground, I don't think I'd ever let him out of my sight again.

Today has been practically non- existent. I'm typing this just after breakfast - at 3.25 p.m. We're ON HOLIDAY though, so it doesn't matter!

Time to go to the sofa for some serious snoozing & telly catching up!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.