if only windchill

The only disadvantage of only buying activity-specific (though generally specifically activity rather than inactivity instead of a specific activity) items wrought in fancy (though generally just variations of weave of polyester) fabric when they're massively reduced is that you generally get no choice of colour, which meant that for a couple of years I've only had black, grey and dark brown pro-ventilation bicyclewear which had to be augmented with a bright yellow standard cotton T-shirt when out at night, reducing the ventilatory advantage somewhat. I recently acquired a couple of reasonably visiblish T-shirts in breeze-encouraging textiles which I imagined I would wear atop my existing dark brown or black long-sleeve airflow-friendly things when it got cold enough. Yesterday morning and late evening was just about cold enough to warrant something over the arms but this then results in two layers over the bit of the body I could least do with having two layers over, especially when also wearing a rucksack. Fortunately I found a cheap pair of arm-warmers yesterday which were only available in white which should solve the problem of it not being cold enough for two layers and it being too dark to wear a single dark-coloured long-sleeve layer. I'll have to do something about my current glove arrangements as on Wednesday morning my thumbs and the tips of my fingers were slightly too cold in a 1½-pair combo but wearing my slightly-too-big thick winter gloves last night and this morning resulted in sweaty hands even without an inner pair of gloves to make them fit more closely and more safely. Sticking a pair of surgical gloves between a couple of thinner pairs to wind- and waterproof them without loss of dexterity worked for snowboarding so I'll have to try and find some somewhere.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.