Spring to Life

By MarkSpringett

Full Medal Jacket

I am very proud of these running medals. Starting in 2001 I completed 6 Great North Runs. I only gave up, as the last two i did alone, and travelling there and back in a weekend by yourself wasn't much fun.

The 4 at the top include my greatest achievement of the London Marathon in 2009, although it was my Nemesis as both my heart and knee decided to give up around the same time and the last few miles were nothing but emotional and physical agony. Recovery has been really difficult and has taken me till now to get back to normal(ish). I reckon i have another 2/3 moths before i'm ready to try a 13 miler.

They are my motivation in my final running objective, the London Marathon 2012, only because it is finishing in the Olympic Stadium. I would dearly love for my running partner & friend to do it too (he did in this year) as we have been running together for about 3 years now, and without him i wouldn't have got this far on the path of recovery.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.