Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Cold Tree

Today I returned to a scene I've blipped before. In fact, I drive past this particular place quite regularly because it's on the way to the hospital where I receive a lot of my mental health care. It's also on the way to one of our nearby towns where we can find decent sized supermarkets to do shopping we can't do locally.

I vividly remember the last time I blipped this tree, on May 23rd. It was one of the first really warm days of the summer, and I was enjoying the feeling of sun on my skin. Beautiful.

Today was rather different. It is one of the first really cold days of the winter and I was all dressed up in fleece and scarf. I much prefer the weather warm as it was back in May. When it's cold I have to wear (and wash) many more clothes, my skin dries out and gets sore, I find relaxing much more difficult and get many more muscle aches and so on, I can't exercise outside in the mornings because it's too dark, we can't air the house without freezing so it is smellier and stuffier, and I suffer from SAD so the only way I can get enough light is to sit in front of an electric box.

On the other hand, I'm further on with the process of building my new life than I was back in May, and, in general, things have improved.

Now I face the challenge of continuing to make progress while getting through whatever horrors the winter has in store for us this year. We're really hoping it's not as awful as it has been the last couple of years.

As to today - this morning I had an appointment at the mental health place, then did a little shopping at one of the big supermarkets. I'm now hoping to have a reasonably productive afternoon at home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.