Dahab 2010 day 4: Puffer fish

Two easy dives right out the front of the dive centre - Bannerfish Bay and Lighthouse. I love that in Dahab you walk straight from the dive centre into a world class dive site.

The coolest things we saw on these dives were sea moths and a whole load of squid, which Cyclops blipped.

On the second dive I felt really cold (which was unusual, this was the warmest water I've ever dived in at 28 degrees, I've felt nothing like as cold even diving in Scotland) and after the dive I had to go straight into a hot shower with my wetsuit still on. I went back to my room to lie down, and within a couple of hours was feverish and vomiting. It was so bizarre, I never knew I was ill before I was really quite ill or I wouldn't have dived.

After a couple of hours of general confusion and wailing Cyclops called the doctor in, who took my temperature (104 underarm) and put me on a drip, which he hung from the air conditioning by a coat hanger. He instructed Cyclops to take the drip out of my arm when it had finished, and he left us a sticking plaster, some tablets for me to take for a few days, and a bill. They are pretty casual about things in Egypt!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.