taking a few hairs with it

A while back I asked the blood-donation-collecting people if they wanted my platelets seeing as they had so many posters on display asking for them. A quick sample and assay later and they thanked me but no thanked me. I can't remember what the reading was then but today, whilst it still wasn't above the threshold, it was apparently high enough given my height and weight for them to reconsider, for which a preliminary appointment shall be booked tomorrow. I'd been meaning to get re-tested for a while but had been spurred on to do it sooner rather than later following the most recent results from the wingpiglet's ongoing and non-threatening but not-yet-discharged-from blood-testing, now no longer indicating any slightly low neutrophil levels but apparently now consisting of a slightly low mean corpuscular volume but with a balancing elevated haematocrit. Though it might not be caused by anything inherited from anyone (there's certainly no known history of anything related on either side that we've heard) it'd be interesting to see if it was inherited, and I thought that the blood count performed for testing platelet levels would also include the MCV, which it did, and which I caught enough of a glimpse of to see that it was in the middle of the normal range. We've to pop back to get him sampled and assayed again in a years' time, a nice indication of it not being anything to stress about for now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.