Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Wreaths

A big day today, with an appointment at the doctor's. No, the cold hasn't suddenly turned into pneumonia. I went in to discuss my bi-annual blood test. My cholesterol level was a little higher than six months ago and marginally above the guideline figure that sees millions of people being prescribed anti-statins, a move that has the shareholders of pharmaceutical companies laughing all the way to the bank.

Once again, I politely declined the offer to join the anti-statin brigade. It is strange that the TV adverts make no mention of the documented cases of people who have started taking these drugs and then developed symptoms on a par with Alzheimer's disease. And the effects on the liver long term are anyone's guess.

My doctor respects my views. She is great doctor and has a good sense of humour, vital for someone in her profession I would think.

I did sign up for three sessions of counselling (British spelling), which will begin in early December. That should be a giggle. I am not sure that I will be allowed to leave the building. :-)

On the way home, I passed by Riverside Avenue Christian Church, quite why "Christian" has to be in its title is anybody's guess. I think the other world's religions worship in synagogues, mosques and temples, so Christian is superflous. But what is a bit of tautology between friends. :-)

I did spot these two wreaths adorning the two large oak doors and liked the way the light was shining on them -- one in the shadow and the other in the full sun. Once again, I turned to the high contrast B&W mode. I really am addicted to this mode and I know it is lazy photography. But the results, to me, are so pleasing and do not require much in they way of post processing. And I am all for an easy life. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.