Me by the Sea

By robindbythesea

Survival Struggles: Geranium

The rain began again. It fell heavily, easily, with no meaning or intention but the fulfilment of its own nature, which was to fall and fall.
~Helen Garner


"Yea, I have looked, and seen November there;
The changeless seal of change it seemed to be,
Fair death of things that, living once, were fair;
Bright sign of loneliness too great for me,
Strange image of the dread eternity,
In whose void patience how can these have part,
These outstretched feverish hands, this restless heart?"
~William Morris, November


No person has the right to rain on your dreams.
~Marian Wright Edelman



It is cold
It is wet
Frost even.
Yet, this geranium
continues.

Somedays
I watch and feel sad
Somedays
I stop to wonder
about my own
weakness of spirit
In the face
of such persistance

I suppose
for a geranium
Life is
just something you do
Until you no longer can

I suppose
for an old woman
One very similar
to myself
Life is something
you remind yourself to do
Until you no longer can.
~Me


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.