Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Tastes of England

The rain came this afternoon and I mean big time rain, which lasted until after the light had faded.

I figured that another photo of the back yard deck might push your endurance to breaking point. What was I to do?

Fortunately, on Wednesday evening we eat out and we also needed to call in at Publix to get those things that were not available on Monday night, our usual shopping time.

About 12 months ago, the store started stocking a small selection of food from good old Blighty (England for American readers). I settled on that as today's blip. English readers may be surprised at the grossly inflated prices, if indeed they are -- it is 10 years since I was last in England, so things may have changed.

Only British readers will know of the sheer delight of dunking a McVitie's digestive biscuit in a cup of tea or coffee. :-)

As a native of Stoke-on-Trent, I was partial to oatcakes -- a local delicacy, found nowhere else in the world -- smothered with Lyle's Golden Syrup.

Talking of British brands, one of my Christmas presents this year was a jar of Hartley's blackcurrant jam; not for me an iPhone G4. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.