TrishaR

By TrishaR

My Land

Last nigh I asked my husband if he had any suggestions what I could do for my day off today. What about clearing out the wee room (junk room) so I can then paint it. OK I said. But as today was the opposite of yesterday, crisp frost with bright blue sky, there was no way I was staying indoors!

So off Breagha and I went in the car, drove 20 minutes south to Blackford (where I grew up) and walked down alongside the Danny Burn, which then joined the Allan Water. I spotted a heron sitting on it's spindly legs enjoying the sun, watching for fish in the Danny. We then crossed the railway line and climbed up the Red Brae, which Breagha is standing on the edge, keeping a close eye on the many rabbits scurrying around. The snow covered peak in the distance is Ben Ledi, near Callander. It looked far closer than it actually is. Standing at the top of the Red Brae, looking over Blackford, with the Ochils behind, such a wonderful view I felt very happy that I was not stuck indoors clearing out a messy room. Another day, when it's raining it'll get done.

Breagha jumped in the water for a swim, I think to cool down after throwing herself down hills trying to catch rabbits - what a great life this dog has.

This lovely spot is just down the road from here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.