Scintilla

By scintilla

Muddy Blip

K has been learning to drive the standard transmission of the Blipmobile whereas our other car is an automatic. She now is favoring the standard transmission for it's sporty appeal. I think she's hoping to take the car with her to college in 3 1/2 years presuming I'll be ready for a new car when the Blipmobile is 10 years old. So K has been a little possessive of the car and has really been giving me a hard time for not getting it washed. I told her I didn't want to take it to the car wash when the temperature is too low as the hot water may make a windshield crack on the car worse. I told her I won't wash it until the temperature is above 20º F (a total arbitrary bullshit threshold). Today the temp went up to 29º so I upheld my end of the bargain. I thought I would document max winter filth of the car before I had it washed. Here is max pristine condition.

New Years was a semi bust. We were supposed to go with friends to a restaurant/logde that had a big buffet and festivities that was supposedly open without reservations and on a first come first served basis. When we got there, they said they were only allowing those with "tickets" and no-one under 21 years of age (thereby excluding the teens in our group). We went to another restaurant that was able to seat us, but after having soup, salad, and bread, the waitress told us the entrees would take 2 hours to come as one of the cooks walked out. We decided soup, salad, and bread were enough. We split up and agreed to get together tomorrow.

Once home, as a family, we took Daisy for a twilight walk in the snow covered trail around the neighborhood to try to de-condition her to the random fireworks going off. The sound drive her nuts in the house. When a burst would go up in the distance, she would bolt after it. I can see how pets get lost and disoriented with fireworks around. We got home, had cookies and watched a DVD. A little champagne at midnight, and I'm ready for bed. Unfortunately, the fireworks noise will probably continue until 3:00 A.M. which will stir up Daisy, and I have to work tomorrow. We go through the same routine of disrupted sleep on the 4th of July.


Happy 2008 Everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.