Marrakech Sunset

We were in the very large main square in Marrakech early tonight (Place Jemaa el-Fna), and we were lucky enough to see a good sunset. Of the five evenings we've been here, this was only the second with any clouds.

The tower on the left is the Koutoubia Mosque--the largest in Marrakech; its minaret dates from the late 12th century.

The square was much more crowded than during the day, with merchants of all kinds, including food. Numerous small open-air restaurants set up in the evening, and one can sit and eat food cooked withing sight. Traffic continues unabated, and pedestrians have to take extreme care in any open area, as here.

The response to my 365th blip yesterday was incredibly gratifying--my warmest thanks to everyone who stopped by and especially to those who commented. As I noted yesterday, I feel very fortunate to have been able to put up the blip on what in a real sense has been the trip I've taken furthest from my home in Massachusetts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.