Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Afon Ystrad

My short sojourn in Wales is over. We left the snow behind us, but didn't see much more than fog, cloud and rain in the few days we were there.

After travelling down to my Mum's on Saturday, I just popped out for a short stroll to one of the haunts of my youth, the Afon Ystrad, a short tributary of the Clwyd near Denbigh. I used to come down to this spot during the summer months to watch a Sand Martin colony that was established near the bushes in the middle of the picture. If you stood here, they would be swooping around you and feeding low over the river. The Ystrad is also a fairly reliable place to spot a Dipper.

The Ystrad is at the core of a Character Area within the Vale of Clwyd Historic Landscape and the Brookhouse Pottery is just down stream.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.