Caring for Canterbury

This is the front cover of the local paper.

I'm overwhelmed by the kindness and generosity of people up here. I wept when I read all the things that local businesses, schools and individuals are offering and doing to help the people of Canterbury.

It is truly humbling.

My morning was swallowed sorting a haircut (my usual in Christchurch no longer exists and I'm hoping my hairdresser and staff are ok), and a trip to my banking consultant. Yes, there might be a sign in the fact I have a banking consultant at the other end of the country. It was good to see her.

I accompanied Mum and Dad to the local Anglican church. Our Prime Minister requested a nationwide 2 minutes silence at 12:51PM, the time of last week's earthquake. I hadn' anticipated the outpouring of grief I'd experience as we sat in the church.

It was peaceful and I appreciated the symbolism of lighting 2 candles, one for my missing friend and another for his family and my close friends, including his fiance, who are in pain.

And life goes on; jobs and helping here, sourcing things I'll need to take back with me and a 1 1/2 hour sleep this afternoon.

Take heart fellow Cantabrians, the outpouring of love, concern and practical assistance I'm witnessing here is repeated in communities around the country.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.