Castan*

A wonderful bright blowy morning for the 1st of March, ideal for a trip into the hills north of the village to take some photos for the toponymy project we're working on with the Cercle Occitan. I took a lot of landscape photos - not my usual subject - and it will take a while to sort them out into rejects and ones that can be used for the lecture and discussion next month (the French word conférence seems much more appropriate here). It was difficult to choose a blip, too, and I've spent a long time considering images of a mazet with an almond tree beside it, but in the end I chose this one because it's more representative of what I was doing this morning.

* Castan is the name of the ruined house on the hilltop in this photo. It is also the word for 'chestnut' in both Occitan and Welsh (both come from Latin). So maybe this is a rather tortuous St David's Day link.... My blip a year ago today was more topically Welsh. I did take some photos of daffodils in the garden today and was pleased to see them out in time. We'll be holding our annual soirée galloise for our Occitan friends on Friday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.