an itching in my thumbs

By itchythumbs

No, Really

People in Boston are like hyenas when it comes to parking. Like, really, territorial. I mean, I guess I understand. I've lived in Chicago. I've lived in San Francisco. I've lived in Austin. I've parked in all of these places. But nowhere compares to this town, where, for the first time ever, I actually had to rent a parking space (and it wasn't cheap).

I love this sign on a neighbor's gate. Seems like it's been there for a while, and it's very clear. Don't park in my driveway. No, really.

In other news, it was sunny today! I consider this breaking news, even though it was still cold. I've realized that I really am not suited for winter weather, and, actually I think I may have mild seasonal affective disorder. It never was a terrible problem in Austin (not much to call winter there) but it has been harder up here.

Today has really been a great day, though, as my favorite band, The Mountain Goats, has a record coming out at the end of the month and it is now live streaming on NPR until then. The whole thing is excellent, but this song speaks to me deeply (like much of their work).

"Never Quite Free"

it's so good to learn that right outside your window
...there's only friendly fields and open roads
and you'll sleep better when you think
you've stepped back from the brink
and found some peace inside yourself
laid down your heavy load

it gets alright
to dream at night
believe in solid skies
and slate blue earth below

but when you see him, you'll know

it's okay to find the faith to saunter forward
there's no fear of shadows spreading where you stand
and you'll breathe easier just knowing that the worst is all behind you
and the waves that tossed the raft all night have set you on dry land

it gets okay
to praise the day
believe in sheltering skies
and stable earth beneath

...but hear his breath come through his teeth

walk thy fate
tell no one what you've seen

it's all good to learn that from right here the view goes on forever
and you'll never want for comfort and you'll never be alone
see the sunset turning red, let all be quiet in your head
and up above all the stars are coming out

they shine
like steel swords
wish me well
where i go

but when you see me, you'll know


For anyone who is interested: NPR Live Stream of The Mountain Goats' "All Eternals Deck"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.