SoozaDay

By soozaday

Dandelion With Hat

And what if I told you that I saw the two little girls from around the corner come tumbling out of their front door when their father's silver station wagon pulled to a stop in front of their house... even the dog was in the pile, a wonder of black wiggling fur, everyone so happy to be together again after the long day. Two little blonde girls squealing for their daddy, and the dog turning circles on the sidewalk. what if I told you the only reason I saw this was that I was out of half-and-half and I figured I'd better walk to the store before it got dark or I'd wake up in the morning with nothing to put in my coffee. And that I've given up caffeine because Im worried about my erratic heartbeat, so it will be decaf, and I don't mind, not at all. I feel so much less addicted when it's decaf. But I was thinking of daddies and little girls and my own small self standing in front of the big picture window waiting for him to appear at the top of the hill. Sometimes there's a black lunch pail, sometimes a thermos and a folded brown bag sticking out of his jacket pocket. Daddy, daddy, I'm jumping and yelling. Soon he'll swing in through the screen door into the kitchen and we'll sit down to dinner, the three of us. It's usually pretty quiet, and I'm always the last one to finish, sometimes sitting alone with my food way past the last dish being washed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.