Who am I to disagree?

By longshanks

The Promised Luggage Blip

Here's Mrs L at Perth station trying to remain incognito. It looks like we're transporting our entire worldly goods down south today. We have the ski bag with skis and other Arctic gear (which has been well used during the recent cold spell), a rucsac with the three man tent and yet more Arctic gear, the PC & Camera bag, the larger rucsac with a few clothes, but mainly the telescope, two pairs of binoculars and the 500mm lens and finally and most importantly a plastic carrier bag with our sarnies. Hopefully I've left nothing in Perth that I require for our Norway / Finland / Sweden? Arctic trip - wait till you see the size of the sarnie bag for that one!

Anyway got back to our home station without incident. I left Mrs L in the waiting room and went off to get the car. It's 2.5km, mainly uphill. With my dodgy knee, I've been told not to run - I think the words were "next time you think about going for a run - just don't". Well I've been good and not been out for a run for a good few years, but it did occur to me that with our trip coming up in under two weeks, I've not done as much fitness work as I had done in previous years. Promise not to tell anyone, but I can still run 2.5km, mainly uphill, without a stop - had a wee clenched fist punch of the air at the front door - daft old bu**er.

So back in time for tonight's pub quiz. Phoned the third member of our team only to find that he was too busy and that he'd just been to visit his son in hospital. He didn't tell me what was wrong, but did seem to find the incident quite amusing and promised to send me a link from the Daily Mail. Have a read - what sort of father finds his son having broken his leg amusing, but more importantly what sort of quiz team member is too busy to turn up after we've travelled over 500 miles with all that luggage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.