Chopper

I had an okay day at school, but that was by the by today.

Just before lunchtime, I received a text from Ben of Helicontrax, offering me the opportunity to come out for a chopper ride to take some photos of various parts of Christchurch from the air.

There is still a no-fly zone in place over the city and so we headed down the coast towards Sumner. Shag Rock is a shadow of its former self. Then over the Port Hills and Lyttleton (where I photographed the ruins of the Timeball building).

Tonight I have seen some completely wrecked buildings and roads. I have also seen so many beautiful scenes. It really lifted my spirits to see that our beautiful city may be in ruins, but its heart is still beating. Christchurch and its environs is really so lovely. I just pray that it will rise from the ashes.

Thanks to Ben for giving me this opportunity. I really had a great time. I hope the photos I took can be of use to you. If you need any more taken, you know where I am! =)

I'm off to bed now.

Night all.

P.S. Fernridge - the doors were off. I was a bit unsure at first but the ride was so smooth that I soon forgot about it. =)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.