All that is beautiful

By sharob

So very proud!

My baby brother was born when I was 10, I loved him the minute I knew my Mum was pregnant but she didn't want a boy. Most of the males on the maternal side of our family suffer with diabeties and she was scared of having a child with this illness. I remember first holding him when we went to visit him in hospital - there is such thing as love at first sight and I knew that moment that I needed to be able to do this myself. I knew then that I needed to be a Mum. I would come home from school and act the young Mum, take him upstairs, play with him in my room, feed him his bottle, bath him and put him to bed. Every single night. Every Sunday, when I was old enough to take him out, he and I used to go to the local park and play for HOURS. I love my brother so much. My Mum moved out when I was 14, she took my brother with her, tore out my heart and I remember just standing in the kitchen sobbing uncontrollably. I knew then that I would be a Mum who wouldn't do this to her own children.

My brother and I have maintained a great friendship, not without its downs, I have been a little envious of him, he's had many holidays, he's grown up in a 'normal' household with a Mum and a (step) Dad. He's been such a lucky boy. Mum does *everything* for him so over the last few years she's battled with his lazy attitude. When he finished school he just lazed about at home, playing World of Warcraft, half heartedly looking for work .. eventually finding part time work, starting at 10, finishing at 6 and complaining that he's had a hard day.

For the last 2 years, he's attemped and succeeded in joining the RAF. I will admit that I didn't think he'd manage, how could he when he hadn't actually done a proper days work, had no respect for ANY authority or other person - not even himself.

Here he is, graduated after completing his 9 weeks basic training. I am the proudest big sister ever in the world.

This is me and my baby brother .. my amazing, clever little brother.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.