Shame Underneath

The degree of shame at the state of my bike's undercarriage is made manifest by my black and white blip.
Had I posted in colour, the rust and general detritus of cycling on filthy roads would have been apparent to all. I will have to step up to the plate and deliver a better cleaning service.

With all the weather that was thrown at us today: howling wind, sunshine, rain, sleet , and hailstones, his Lordship and I embarked on a shopping trip for the contents of a meal with friends tomorrow night, and orchestrated it with a visit to the land of flowers having a 20% reduction on plant life day.

As the good man remarked, it was like being children in a sweetie shop, so good was it to wander round and pick the flowers that appealed.
Needless to say we left with a car boot full of blooms and compost, and sizeable holes in the garden centre and his Lordship's wallet.

But not to worry, the Dower House will be bedecked in a riot of colour this summer, so long as this mad March weather doesn't torture the poor things into an early demise.

Now as the sky has descended once more to earth, and the sleet , hailstones and now wet snow are blowing horizontally against the windows, I await my granddaughter who will have to battle her way across the Meadows to the Dower house for tea and be assaulted by wind and weather en route. I hope she's wrapped up well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.