While on my runs

By waipushrink

Ariki Sunset #6

While on my run this morning, again in the dark, I was limited in what caught my interest and none of my shots was particularly good technically or as interesting as this shot of the sunset from the deck.

When I realised that it was going to be a bright, and dramatic sunset, I got prepared. I took a number (quite a number) of shots in which I mixed up shots with the smaller and with the larger lens. Screwed up the focus with the long lens so all that those deserve is the bin. This is one of the first ones I took with the smaller lens.

The orb of the sun is about to become visible below the lowermost cloud layer. Nine minutes later it was below the horizon. None of my later shots was as grand as this one.

I acknowledge the repetition; as identified in the title this is the sixth sunset from the deck which I have posted. However, each one is different; different stages of the setting sun; different cloud formations; different points of focus/interest.

What I like most of all about this picture is that it shows the beauty and the peacefulness we see in nature. Yet that is no more truly part of nature than is the violence and destruction of earthquakes, tsunami etc. Nature just is; we provide the adjectives.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.