MallyC

By MallyC

A spire.....

Another grey day and am finding it very difficult to stay positive when every minute of a waken day there is more sad/worrying/frustrating news from Japan and Christchurch. If only the sun would shine for a while. Even the yellowing of the trees in parks and reserves does nothing to lighten my mood ( I actually love autumn because of its colourful finery, sunny days and cool nights emitting the heady aroma of wood smoke).

Waiting for my mother I made myself look up and there before me was a spire reaching up to a flat grey and dismal sky flanked by the dulling green of Silver Birch trees and I felt lucky to be looking at such a strong and leading edifice built by the first dunedinites -stoic Scots - who had such vision and dreams for this city.

That is the one sure thing in all this loss and chaos.......life goes on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.