Frontier

By Frontier

Burning Fist

I've always been a fan of Japanese Cinema since I was very little. Most media that comes out of Japan has an extremely arresting aesthetic about them. Some are not to everyone's taste but I suppose you can't fault the notion that it's certainly unique. I for one didn't get deeper into the genre until only about 5-6 years ago after my first visit.

One such director that I've been an avid fan of is Shinya Tsukamoto, and although I've only seen a handful of his movies once, I liked the title Tokyo Fist the most. I remember going into import video / dvd stores when I was younger and staring at the covers for ages, just imagining the horror that lay within the running time of Tetsuo: Iron Man, Tetsuo II: Bodyhammer and Haze. The titles themselves were oozing of grit and nitro glycerine. I imagined for a long time the idea of Tokyo Fist and the kind of characters that were in the movie, or the actors who would embody such an aggressive nickname.

I love Japanese cinema as a whole and although most that gets distributed in Japan can be considered rubbish by some, the stuff that's great is truly great. In my opinion anyway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.