Frontier

By Frontier

Paper Cranes

Walking through Osu I went past Osu Kannon and spotted multi-coloured paper cranes. It's a gorgeous symbol and I remember seeing 1000s of them in Hiroshima when I first visited it. I stumbled onto the Hiroshima Memorial Site by accident and it really made a deep impression on me.

Arguably one of the worst tragedies in history was memorialised in such a modest and beautiful way that only a Japanese aesthetic can present got me thinking so deeply about how lucky I am to be living the life I have now. Along with the utter destruction the recent tsunami caused, I reassessed my life again. Sometimes I'm unable to show gratitude because I'm overwhelmed. This was just another reminder; always be thankful.

Some information about Origami and the Paper Crane.
http://www.lisashea.com/japan/origami/sales/history/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.