Skate Culture Article #8 - Game of S.K.A.T.E.

S.K.A.T.E. is a game played on skateboards which I think is an adaptation of a school yard game and usually played using flip tricks on a skateboard on flat ground.

Someone goes first and attempt a trick. If they land the trick cleanly, they have 'set' the trick. If they don't land it cleanly, the setting of the trick goes to the next person. Once a trick has been set, everyone else playing attempts to land the same trick. If they don't land it cleanly to the satisfaction of the setter, they get an S of the word S.K.A.T.E. Subsequent failed tricks earn more letters of S.K.A.T.E. When you have the full word, you are out. Once everyone has attempted the trick, the setter attempts to another trick and the whole process is repeated. No tricks are allowed to be repeated and the winner is the last person not to have all the letters.

I was in Glasgow today and as the opportunity presented itself, it afforded me a wee wander and skate which led me to Kelvingrove. Everytime I'm at Kelvingrove skate park I seem to see people playing S.K.A.T.E. I suspect the reason I see people playing it here so often is because Kelvingrove skatepark has a lot of flat ground compared to other skateparks that are more transition based.

---------------------------------------------------------------------

Notes of Skate Culture Articles...
This is part of a series of Skate Culture Articles I've been writing as an insight into the sport of skateboarding for an outsider. You can find the rest of the articles by entering tagged skateculturearticle by tractorfactoryphotos into the BlipSearch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.