Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Nesting...

A really mild spring day, with temperatures rising to 15C. I spent the morning in the garden, weeding and planting. My digging was of great interest to the local robin. I'm pretty sure we're going to have two pairs nesting, one on each side of the garden. The blue tits were chasing around like mad things and a male pigeon was courting his mate with graceful bows of his head. I also watched a wren, working its way through the bushes - delicately picking off insects.

By the time I took the dogs out the cloud cover had increased and the light was flat. I went through Bluebell Wood, on the south bank of the River Nene. The lesser celandines were in full flower, and there were patches of sweet and comon dog-violet and the tiny blue flowers of creeping speedwell.

I could hear plenty of birds calling, but most were high in the trees. Just as I was passing a patch of bramble I heard the soft contact calls of long-tailed tits, and stopped to see if they would come near. This one bird showed itself, and it wasn't until I was taking the photograph that I realised it had a mouthful of moss. The long-tailed tit's nest is a work of art - an elastic ball of moss, spiders' webs, lichen, feathers, and hair that is built by both birds in a bush, hedge or tree with brambles a favourite place.

Unfortunately a couple of dog walkers came along the path behind me and disturbed the birds, so I didn't get a chance to take any more shots.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.