Northern Exposure

By Northern

Neighbours

The boys and I took a wander down to the graveyard at the old kirk today. We would normally head past it to the beach but the tide was in and we pottered about the graveyard instead.

I suppose the residents of the graveyard are our nearest neighbours and there are a few who used to occupy our house. I guess some might find that a bit uncomfortable but I quite like having them there. I mean it's not as if they pop in for tea is it?

We know little snippets of the folk who have lived in out house over the years. It would be good to know more, one day I'll get around to finding out. I've been told this is the gravestone of one couple who did. They moved here in the early 1800s during the Highland Clearances.

There are also two stones next to each other of a man who lived in our house and his brother. In 1907 they set off to the Orkney Mainland to buy supplies. (In those days our island wasn't linked by the Churchill barriers so you had to do your shopping by boat). On the way back a thick fog came down and their boat collided with a steamer. Both brothers were lost at sea.

Somehow, I think we probably have it a lot easier than most people who have lived here over the past 400 years. But then this William McDonald did live to 78 so he must have done alright.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.