a day in the life of Jack

By jacksmom726

Taft Tunnel

My hubby is home on vacation this week, so we decided to take a little walk to a place that he visited often as a kid. It's a train tunnel just a couple miles from where we live, that maybe a lot of people don't even realize is there.

Taft Tunnel is the oldest tunnel still in railroad use in it's original form in the US. It was originally built by the Norwich and Worcester Railroad in 1837. It is a tunnel through hard rock and is approximately 300 feet long. It allowed the Norwich and Worcester to generally follow the Quinebaug river between Norwich and Clayville Connecticut.

I was amazed at how the tracks curved through the tunnel and how long it was. It was dark, and there were drips of water coming through the rocks.

I like this photo of Jack and Daddy walking out of the tunnel into daylight, showing their silhouettes. I have also posted other photos of the tunnel here!!!!

I am still very behind commenting...with hubby home, I haven't really had the time to be on the computer much. I hope you understand!! :)

Have a great Tuesday everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.