hello again

By admirer

SAFETY SAND,

spout by a large schip, some metres away from the beach, near Kijkduin.
Again the most wonderful blue-sky-day in a row, we are lucky and cheerful.
I cycle to Scheveningen and at the harbour I go to the very end of the pier and I like it enormously to be surrounded by the sea.
Sometimes when we walk in Scheveningen, my husband says that I sort of am at home there, the mother of my mother being a daughter of a ship-owner there, and her father born in Katwijk, a fishing-village. I very much disowned that fervently, saying that as a child I always was afraid of the sea. But now standing there and liking it, enjoying the wideness of the view, the smell of salt water, I might think perhaps he has a point. Afraid of the dangers of the sea is a common feature of the people living at the coast, who lost in earlier times fathers, sons and brothers in the struggle for survival.
An early photo shows me pretending to lie in the sea, but obviously I don't touch the water with my whole little body.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.