[blowfish]

By blowfish

forward

Something lucid tonight:

Shot over 200 photos today with three different cameras and this one, with the weakest of the three, ended up being my favorite (which was also from the earliest part of the day). Do you ever have one of those really long days, Dear Reader, where it is filled with nothing but social activities and general fun? Today was, and is, one of those days. Sounds really good, and it was, but like any other kind of long day it was tiring. So, here we go.

Leah and I started off the morning hanging out at the house, catching up on the phone with family. Then we headed over to the bike shop for a pedal wrench, grabbed some iced coffee at Avoca (where the above photo was taken across the street at Spiral Diner), went to the pond to walk around and look at baby ducks, then headed over to Liz's. From there we met up with Brighton and Shane to take pictures at the zoo (which ended up being batshit crazy-crowded) and then the Botanic Gardens, then Fred's for burgers and beers, and then gelato, and then back to Liz's for a movie and whiskey, and then....

But for the Botanic Gardens, Liz took both of her Nikon DSLRs and I got to keep one lashed around my neck all afternoon. Very exciting. The thing shot so smoothly, naturally, but for some reason nothing I took with it seemed to really make me happy, make it into Bliplandia. I think I was forcing everything, just trying to make a good shot happen because I had access, suddenly, to this great camera. Some are on FB for those who are friends with me. But I just wasn't letting things happen organically, go unposed. I had this nice piece of photographic equipment and I basically choked, panicked almost like I was under some time restraint and I had to force in as many shots as possible, totally upending the whole quantity and quality presupposition. You dig?

Bah, that's enough for now. Cheers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.