[blowfish]

By blowfish

ride

Well, it is the last Friday of the month and you know what that means (or maybe you don't): Critical Mass! This here is local bike-commuter, stay-at-home-dad, and bicycle advocate Nicky, his Surly Big Dummy, and his two kids (I forgot their names but I think the little one is Tex). I thought this action shot came out well of us starting the ride from the park downtown, with the kid being the only real thing in focus (plus he is so colorful with his neon beacon-of-a-helmet).

So, Leah joined me this time (we hadn't ridden a Mass together since October) despite having basically already worked out since 3:00 with her one-hour boot camp and one hour on the treadmill. A little thirteen mile social stroll didn't kill her though (but I will be the one that has to rub her thighs in the morning--but this is not a bad thing). Opted out of the after-party at the pub, however, in trade for a quiet relaxing night after a long week of studying. Maybe some Futurama and quesadillas.

Ah, in more biking news that may or may not have any sort of relevance to you all, Dear Readers: I got some SPD shoes for the clipless pedals I am going to try on the fixie--I'm actually a little nervous for my safety whilst learning on account of the perpetually turning wheels/pedals (fixed gear = no coasting). In fact, this is rare for me on the bicycle, actually; I find that my most audacious demeanor is on full-fledged and unbridled display when riding, which is good because I tend to be reserved and relaxed (in general) and I embrace the opportunities that the bicycle grants me for being aggressive. Riding makes me animalistic. But not always, so often it is a very peaceful and calming activity. I don't need to belabor this repeatedly but I will conclude by saying I am not sure that I am aware of any other sort of physical activity that makes me experience so many emotional spectra. Maybe sex. Which is something cycling is often compared to I guess.

Oh, and I got a sweet Knog bike computer too, which was actually the runner-up for the Blip this evening. And I won't mention the serious moose knuckle that the new bibs give me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.