Who am I to disagree?

By longshanks

A Day of Falling Over

Up to today I've been pretty pleased with my fitness and skiing, okay skiing conditions if you ignore the odd bit of wind have been pretty benign, a nice even covering of snow that doesn't send your skis off in some random direction inducing minor panic attacks. But today things were about to change.

Today we left Gappo and cut across a corner of Sweden and headed through Isdalen (does that translate as ice valley?) where the top snow had been blown off leaving a hard covering of snow / ice. I'll play my next sympathy card now and say that with virtually only one eye my perspective when looking at snow makes the decision as to whether it's going up, or down, or simply protruding out fairly difficult. So when we had a 100m pull up an icyish slope I was feeling a little uncomfortable, but managed it plodding along behind Philip. But then reaching the safety of a wee plateau found that we were way off line and a lot higher than we needed to be, the remainder of the party had taken the correct route and awaited our return. I'm surprised they didn't die of hypothermia waiting for me as I skated and slipped all over the place.

The continuation through the valley was just as inept, then as we approached another incline Mick suggested I take the pulk!! I didn't argue, but I was a bit apprehensive, but actually it was just what I needed and stopped me feeling sorry for myself. He's not a bad judge of what is required is our Mick.

Things took a turn for the better on the long traverse descent to Rostahytta. Still a bit icy, but get those edges in and just stay upright. Aching knees and thighs induced a couple of stops, but at least I remained upright. The final descent to the valley floor and the hut was a bit problematical though, through the birch trees. Rancidand somehow got down rather quickly, it transpired his left ankle was giving him gyp and he couldn't edge so took a direct route down! While Robert after being nursed along yesterday found himself with the pulk on this stretch and showed some impressive downhill skills until the very last moment when gravity got its revenge. Me, I just did a lot of side-stepping.

Today's photo shows the entrance to the Rostahytta with the snow up to the roof, but below as you can see, once inside it's a veritable palace.

Rancidand's Version

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.