nameiwantstaken

By nameiwantstaken

Mad APRIL Hares!

This Blip was taken at RSPB Old Moor. I had a great day there:

First I went to the visitor centre and was told that a Bittern had been seen at 1pm from the Bittern hide. Before going to this hide I had a look in the Tree Sparrow farm which had the usual Pheasants, Blackbirds, Song Thrush, Chaffinch, Tree Sparrow etc and a Rabbit. (which is not todays Blip, its a hare...)

Then across to the Reedbed side. I saw caddisfly larvae in the ponds and managed to get pics of silvery blurs which are Whirligig beetles. I also got a few decent shots of Pondskaters which nearly became todays Blip.

That was until I saw theses 3 Brown Hares!

I was drawn to them because I was scanning the grass for Wheatears. The Hares were so well camoflauged against the hedges! THey were running around madly. I dont think they fully 8boxed, at least whgile I was watching them, but they were showing that kind of behaviour. I think there was one female and two males. I watched them for 5, 10 minutes before they disappeared into the trees.

I've never seen Hares *box, so even though they didn't do it properly it was still great to see. The pictures not great, but it was an amazing encounter!

*- If you dont know what I mean by Hares boxing, read this: At this time of year, male Hares pester the females. THe girls dont always want to mate so they fight off the boys. Sometimes the girls rise up on their hind legs and box the boys using their front legs. Thats where the saying "Mad March Hares" comes from.

During my visit I also heard/saw Chiffchaffs, Coots naking their nests, Moorhens, Sand Martins, G C Grebes, L Grebes, a Sparrowhawk, a Grey Heron and 2 Red legged Partridge! While i was in the Bittern hide, someone saw the Bittern run from one patch of reeds to another. I, and everyone else, missed it.

Just before uploading this I also put out my Moth trap. Fingers crossed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.