The way I see it.

By christinePears

Neil Gunn's Highland River

It was a day when I was spoiled for choice for blips but settled for this one of the river running up Dunbeath Strath. I took a walk up there on my way home from Inverness and was fascinated at every turn by remains of monastry, fort, ruined settlement, newly built suspension bridges and I had to turn round and go back as I did not have nearly enough time to explore it all!

Here is a link for any Neil M Gunn enthusiasts who might want to see more of the river. For the non-enthusiasts he was one of Scotland foremost 20th century novelists and was born and brought up in Dunbeath, Caithness. One of his best known novels is "Highland River" which tells of his journey as a boy to the source of the river.

The sun was shining today and I made pancakes with my 3 year old grandson before we all went out for a trip to Strathpeffer which is a very beautiful Highland Victorian spa town. We had a wonderful forest walk just above the town and then descended down the hill through the beautiful houses and streets. A very wonderful mother's (and bonus at my age..grandmother's day) day out!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.