horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Just. Not. Quite.

A day of 'just not quite'. The weather not quite playing ball to let me get out (though I did get a good bit of the cycling site done for Friday); a nice lunch actually, with a friend (and ex-colleague) who I haven't seen in about 3 years, but who I'll be working much nearer to after we've both got new jobs, so lunches such as that will be a bit more likely; and a bit of driving about in frustrating traffic (I'm not IN traffic, I AM traffic - this is why I normally ride everywhere).

Got new cycling shoes, which are great (and look more like walking boots), but the new bar tape on the Kaff is 'not quite' right (I'm normally really good at that!), and the cable routing for the front and rear mechs is a bit 'not quite' and will need sorting.

Flapjacks out the oven are 'not quite' set, here's hoping the homemade mini pork pies now occupying that space come out alright, before the flapjacks go in for an extra blast. And the walk with friends tomorrow gets more complicated with them preparing for a trip to Dublin, meaning they need packing time in the morning, so we leave later, with a knock-on effect on how long we can meander (partially so I can take some wildlife shots along the river). I may give them the 'not quite' pork pies for the lunch stop if there are any.

Still. I AM gradually relaxing. So yes, as was commented the other day, probably just in time to start the new job and lose all the benefit.

Ah well.

Not quite.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.