A chef's day...

By chef

Foie Gras

An ingredient which causes a lot of controversy. I absolutely love it. My wife hates me for using it. I have worked with chefs who refuse to taste it and others who can't get enough of it. It is one of those flavours like truffle or olives, once you have the taste for it you can't get enough. I have never looked into it but I imagine it contains Umami.

I do use the french 'rougie' foie gras which is from free range ducks. Their facebook page and website.

The top photo is the 2 lobes of the liver. I have just deveined it. The bottom photo is the 2 lobes turned upside down and you can see the mess from deveining. I marinate it with madeira, port, brandy, pepper and salt for 24 hours and then I let it come back to room temperature so that I can shape it into a cylinder shape in about 5 layers of clingfilm. Then I roll it into muslin cloth and tie the ends. It then gets 'poached' at about 70C for 3 minutes to cook it. Once set it gets sliced like a pate. Very very nice on toasted brioche with some Maldon sea salt and Madeira wine reduction. I serve roasted figs with it too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.