Time and opportunity.....

By kayempee

Enduring love

Today I found out that Yeltsin (the cat at the back) has lymphoma, as predicted.

He is 13 years old, and has travelled more air miles than some people. He first came to me in the UAE (via a friend) and travelled back to Australia in 2000. He has flown back and forth from Melbourne to Queensland, and has always just been there.

He is the centre of attention in our home. Mongkut, the other Siamese being pampered, loves Yeltsin more than he loves me. My two dogs love jumping all over him, licking him, and he lies there and takes it, obligingly. And of course I love his affectionate nature and easy going attitude.

But I have a few days to decide........whether I put him down before I go to Patagonia on holidays, or hope he lasts one month more and deal with it when I come home.

It is horrible to see him deteriorate, and know that he will be so missed. He looks quite good right now (you cannot see the 10cm long suturing on his tummy). I'm giving myself a few days to decide.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.