Time and opportunity.....

By kayempee

Tired eyes

This would be Yeltsin's last day. He was not to know this and neither was I when I took this photo.

He woke me at 4am. His tummy was grumbling and I knew that could not be good. I sat and watched him for some time before I got up.

This photo shows his sad tired eyes. These are not the eyes of a happy go lucky, easy going cat. These are the enough is enough eyes, the look that you don't like to see on your pet.

It confused me that he seemed to get down the stairs easily and followed me around for the morning. I was labouring over what to do with him, considering my holiday in a few days, and the unsurity of how he was going. I needed a sign. I headed off to work.

He again greeted me with energy, demanding food, and so it was given. He had a little play outside with his mate, and the fake little play fight that they would usually have, before they settled as two sentinels in the driveway to oversee the passing dog walking parade. He sneaked outside again a little later and returned, proclaiming loudly to me about all the things he had seen as he entered the house.

Just like old times............ That last little taste of life. That last bit of energy used up ensuring that he got outside, and got some fresh air. That he walked on the grass when i wasn't looking, and then returned.

He didn't want to be with me that night. As I retired to bed I had no idea what the new day would bring.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.