The Alpine Route

What a pity there wasn't a train with a head of steam thundering across the viaduct when I took this, but they are long gone thanks to Mr Beeching. I took a detour on my ride home today to drop down to the viaduct and cross it for a different view. Apparently this stretch of railway between Halifax and Bradford was nicknamed the 'Alpine Route' by crews because of its curves and gradients. Fiendishly good engineers those Victorians! Probably looks better in large.

I've just looked at my last year's blip, which was my 100th, and noted that I used the word fiendishly in that commentary too....spooky or what?

And now I've just randomly clicked on my Saturday blip - and I used fiendishly in that too! I'm in danger of becoming a bore!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.