Views of my world

By rosamund

Spurge/Euphorbia

It's hard to decide which name I like more - common "spurge" or fancy "euphorbia"??

They are both such wonderful words that have their own phonetic connotations and conjurings. Spurge sounds like a weed, but I love the way the word forms in my mouth. Euphorbia sounds like a serious old maiden aunt, but also suggests the euphoria of each happy little flower head basking in the sun. You can choose your own favourite.

I took this shot today on a wonderful day out with the family to Culzean Castle. It is the first time that we have used our National Trust membership and it was such a gorgeous day. It was lovely exploring somewhere together that was new to us but strangely familiar as it is one of the few places I have photos of being with my mum when I was very young. We sat on the same picnic bench by the swan pond and although I could see the photo clearly in my mind's eye, there is no REAL memory attached to it, which is a bit of a shame.

Now it is time for me to enjoy this lovely setting with my family, and everybody had a ball, even poor Freya who twisted her ankle quite badly on the way back to the car.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.