Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

Measure Twice, Cut Once

I mentioned yesterday that it is my Father in Law's anniversary today, so I decided to find something to remember him by. As I looked through books we have, I came across his Form VT Woodwork Exercise Book, probably from the early 1940s. The phrase "Measure Twice, Cut Once" was a favourite of his. He was skilled with his tools, and created many things including the kitchen in his home, and a large cupboard in our previous abode.

It is interesting that so many of his family in the following generations have inherited these skills. I can think of artworks, a woodshed, a mantelpiece, a gate, tables, stools, boxes and a large piece of play equipment in the shape of a train, to name but a few.

Thank you to everyone who made my 730 Blipday special yesterday. I was quite overwhelmed by the response.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.