Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Unfolding ash

I woke up feeling shattered after my busy day yesterday - and my knee's still complaining about the seven hours of walking. Still, I'm of the opinion that it's better to keep the joints moving so I went off for an hour's quiet walking by the river with the dogs before lunch.

What a contrast to the hustle and bustle of the Thames yesterday! My river was filled with birdsong, and I was thrilled to see the first swallow of theyear (though one swallow doesn't make a summer - certainly not today!) There were also the first common terns and sedge warbler - and somehow, since my last visit, the hawthorn blossom has started to appear and the ash leaves are unfurling from their buds. I think they're so incredibly elegant at this stage - if I was clever enough I'd love to make a sculpture of them!

I'm blipping quite early tonight, as I need to start writing up my survey report after dinner. It's got to be in by Friday - nothing like a tight deadline to get things done!!

PS Yesterday it wasn't me applying the nail varnish. it was an elegant and very skilful young lady. I wouldn't sit with an open bottle of nail varnish balanced on my briefcase in a crowded and very rattly tube train - I know only too well what would happen if I did!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.