Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Calypso Twins

I really love April at the island for the wildflowers that appear if you look for them in the forest. These wee fragrant orchids (also called Fairyslipper) always delight me - they are maybe 5-6 inches tall with a 1" flower. Not often do i see 2 together this close. Yes, those are raindrops.
A few words from my Plants of the Pacific Northwest Coast book-"The Haida called the corms "black cod butter" because of their rich butter-like flavor. They ate them in small quantities but their use is not recommended today because the plants are relatively rare. Haida girls ate the corms raw to enhance their bustlines. Calypso, the goddess daughter of Atlas, was Homer's beautiful nymph hidden in the woods and found by Ulysses when he was wrecked on the island of Ogygia. Calypso means "concealment.""

I do wish I'd gotten it together for a "poncing" blip today, tho - I'm getting a large kick out of so many, but have to wait til I get back to faster internet to see more. My AED dictionary on my iphone says a "ponce is a man who is effeminate in his manner and fussy in the way he dresses." ?????? Oh well, I love the blip definition.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.