a town called E.

By Eej

Mental

Have you ever wondered if mental illness exists among animals?
If so, this goose is a straightjacket waiting to happen. A few weeks ago it charged at me on the other (village) side of the lake, and today it decided the Beloved and me had no business on Maple Island.
At first we thought that the lovely female on the massive nest underneath the bridge was his bride, so the hissing and spitting and swimming towards us all threateningly made perfect sense. But when we carefully approached her (without the intention of disturbing her so not getting close at all) he didn't make a move.
I told the Beloved that there was no female around when it tried to kill me* earlier, so it must just be mentally unstable.

It does have very pretty blue eyes though.

And I'm quite happy looking at them from a safe distance.


If you haven't seen this, you may well have missed one of my proudest moments. (I'm only half joking about that too!)


*exaggeration for dramatic purposes

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.