To higher education

Vapaan kansan lahja vapaalle tieteelle

(Eng. A gift from a free people to free science)


That's what it says with big metal letters on the wall of University of Turku, which we visited today. Their slogan has its roots at the early nationhood of Finland, so that's why freedom is such a highlighted thing in it. I find it a good slogan, for science must be free! How could it enhance anything if it was a chained thing, huh?

Well, at any rate I pretty liked the visit. First there was an exhibition at the great auditorium, where the staff told us about University of Turku in general. They said every student who gets accepted there will soon get to know what their slogan meant and still means. But dude, I knew that before... :)

We were told that we can wander through the uni and its campus as we wish, so after the exhibition I headed towards the Department of English, which was nearer I thought, but which I didn't recognize at first, lol. There was an exhibition of English, where the uni teachers introduced the subject to the high schoolers from around Southwestern Finland.

It's rather different to study English at uni than at high school. More freedom yet more resposibility. However, I got a very positive feeling about the exhibition, which only strengthened my visions of future. There's never been so many things I've been thinking I'm not so poor at but English (and, at times, abusing caffeine).

So, it's next Spring when I need to apply for something. Think it'll be something which has pretty much to do with English and/or German. At least languages. I just realized I need do apply for foreign universities much earlier! Oh my.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.